API interface casting

Programming and macros
bnemec
Answers: 10

API interface casting

Unread post by bnemec »

I'm not not exactly in love with how the SW API uses inheritance to deal with allowing backward compatibility as new features come out. But I'm also no professional programmer so... I run into casting exceptions a little too often when skipping several generations.

For example, I'm changing state on a file that was accessed from search result. When search result object type is file we can cast to IEdmFile5. Fine, but I want to change state and although I don't need ChangeState3, it was driven into me a long time ago to avoid deprecated functions unless there's a good reason. So I get IEdmFile5 but just found out that cannot be cast to IEdmFile13 (the first generation to have ChangeState3). Now I'm going to Christopher Columbus my way to finding out the allowable steps of what IEdmFile** can be cast to other IEdmFile**.

Would be super if there is a list of allowable casts somewhere in the help. Has anyone see this? I cannot find it if there is.
by JSculley » Tue Oct 12, 2021 1:45 pm
bnemec wrote: Tue Oct 12, 2021 12:10 pm So I get IEdmFile5 but just found out that cannot be cast to IEdmFile13 (the first generation to have ChangeState3).
The SW API uses Microsoft COM (Component Object Model). One of the primary rules of COM is backward compatibility. Every new version of an interface (IEdmFile5, IEdmFile6, etc...) should be backward compatible. If I am handed an object which I know to be an IEdmFile, I should be able to cast it to any interface from IEdmFile5 all the way up to IEdmFile17. I just did exactly this in a simple PDM test add-in.