Help - Converting STL to something usable

3D scanning hardware, software, and other reverse engineering tools
DennisD
Answers: 1

Help - Converting STL to something usable

Unread post by DennisD »

I am helping with a B-17 restoration project and we recently had a major component scanned.  It is a big part and the STL file is large at 440MB.  The scan has some holes in it.  We can see the STL using the slicer software for a 3D printer, but this file just bogs down SWX.  I am using SWX Pro 2020 and also have 2021. 
image.png
Does anyone know if SWX 2022 has more capabilities to deal with STL files?  I have not bothered to install 2022 yet, but will if it can give me something usable. 

Is there a SWX add-in that can do the job? I have no experience doing surfacing so this seems intimidating.

Since we can open the file in Chitubox slicer software rather easily (it even slices it despite the holes in the scan) is there a slicer program that can convert (Save As or Export) to a usable file format?

I was able to open a smaller scan with similar holes in Onshape and saved it out as STEP, Parasolid, ACIS, Object, and IGES formats, but if they opened in SWX they were still the unusable mesh surfaces.

If we can get this STL converted to surfaces or something we can reference then we can repair the holes and make a complete solid. 

Our objective is to eventually get a casting of this part.  We do not have drawings for it, apparently they don't exist (according to the professional historian leading this project - - and he's found just about everything else!)
Thanks in advance.
Brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls aren't there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to show us how badly we want things.
- - -Randy Pausch
zwei
Answers: 18

Re: Help - Converting STL to something usable

Unread post by zwei »

From what i heard, SW22 add some new capability to editing STL file, but performance wise is still pretty much the same i think?