Solidworks takes a lot of RAM when saving

lilbat
Answers: 0

Solidworks takes a lot of RAM when saving

Unread post by lilbat »

I wanted to save a static simulation, i hit Ctrl+S and SW freeze (the usual stuff). But when i looked on how much RAM SW was using, it just keept going up until i hit 99% of RAM usage (i have a total of 32GB of RAM). At that point i decided to terminate SW.

I should add that i've already save a simulation very similar to that one : Only the external loads had a different value. I should also add that SW did some crazy things since the beginning of the week. I wanted to do a pack & go, but the same story happened, SW took all the RAM so i add to terminate it. Since then SW (at least in simulation) is going crazy with RAM. I'm no informatic engineer but it seems like he never gives up RAM unless i terminate him or close him.

Overall performances in simulations are also worst.

Hopefully you can help me out.

I'm on SW 2019
SPerman
Answers: 13

Re: Solidworks takes a lot of RAM when saving

Unread post by SPerman »

https://www.cadforum.net/viewtopic.php? ... mory#p6168

2019 was a low point for SW, in mine (and others) opinion. Upgrading to 2020 MIGHT help, but more than likely it's just a SW thing.
-
I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be. -Douglas Adams
lilbat

Unread post by lilbat »

SPerman wrote: Tue May 11, 2021 4:05 pm https://www.cadforum.net/viewtopic.php? ... mory#p6168

2019 was a low point for SW, in mine (and others) opinion. Upgrading to 2020 MIGHT help, but more than likely it's just a SW thing.
Thank you for the reply. Sadly, upgrading to 2020 is probably not on the plans since i'm the only one making FEA analysis in this company.